It’s About to Get Girly as Fuck in Here.

23 Feb

I think I’ve admitted this before… I’m a closet girly-girl. And I don’t really care what people think of that.

Give me eye shadows in a multitude of colors, give me a mani/pedi with a hot-stone calf massage, give me a day of having my hair cut/colored/conditioned. Give me an unlimited budget to create an entirely new wardrobe (after I drop the 30lbs I’d like to get rid of, of course). Give me jewelry and pretty, shiny things,  give me pretty perfume bottles that smell like heaven and I’m in love. So many of my friends find this information shocking… they say it doesn’t seem to fit my personality, because I’m so straight to the point.

This whole girly-girl thing seems to get worse as I get older. My taste has become more refined, my interest in making sure I leave the house looking put together has grown exponentially since my high school and college days. The only thing standing in my way? My budget. I have wickedly expensive taste… for instance, my new cosmetic obsession? NARS. Their colors are beautiful, and their quality is top-notch.

I'll take three of each, please.

I’m really, really sad how expensive this stuff is. Twenty eight bucks for a blush. Good. Christ. I’m currently talking myself out of blowing my next commission check on their entire line…

I’m not really sure where this whole girly-girl thing comes from… I think I just like feeling pretty. Yes, that sounds shallow and vapid and insipid, but damnit, it’s true. I like getting all dolled up, and I like the compliments it brings. I believe a swipe of lipstick, a touch of mascara, and a spritz of perfume is sometimes all it takes to lift my mood. Ladies, don’t tell me not one of you agrees with me. There is something about LOOKING good that makes you FEEL good. If that weren’t the case, why would so many people be on a quest to lose weight, or get plastic surgery, or change their hair? Call me shallow, I don’t really care. I feel my best when I look my best – and as far as I’m concerned there are also different types of “look my best.” Whether it be for work, or casual, or lounging around my house… I know I can “look my best” in my uniform, jeans and a sweater, or nothing at all. Recently, some jackass called me “high maintenance” because I told him I was headed to get a manicure and a spa pedicure. I don’t think being a girly-girl means I can’t hang with the boys and play video games or drink beers. I don’t think it makes me unrelatable to other women. I’d like to know when caring about how I look/smell/dress became “high maintenance”? I don’t expect anyone else to pay for these habits/routines, and I don’t go overboard. I will occasionally run out of the house in yoga pants, a hoodie, and sneakers to run errands (but only throwing a hat on over my hair). I don’t wear makeup to the gym, unless I’ve applied it earlier in the day for another occasion. I don’t really know where I’m going with this rant, so I’ll stop here. The goal was to get out 500 words to be the writer’s block, and I did it. Go me.  

Leave a comment